Live Our
Heritage

Al Ahmadiya School

  • 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3.jpg
  • 4.jpg
  • 5.jpg
  • 6.jpg
  • 7.jpg
  • 8.jpg

Please note, this venue is currently UNDER RENOVATION and will be closed to the public until further notice.

Al Ahmadiya School takes you back to the historical ambience of education in the early 20th century of Dubai's history. It is the first national semi-regular school in the Emirate of Dubai. It was founded and established by His Eminence, the late Sheikh Ahmed bin Dalmouk in 1912. He was one of the leading prominent pearl merchants in the Arabian Gulf. The school attracted a number of scientists and scholars from neighbouring Arab countries to teach at it. Education went on at the school ever since its establishment until 1958. In 1994, the Government of Dubai restored Al Ahmadiya School and transformed it into a historical museum.

Al Ahmadiya School provides a unique opportunity to discover the history of the educational development in the school, the emirate and the country. The visitor will be able to experience the atmosphere of traditional education in different sections of the school, including internal and external classes, corridors, internal courtyard, utilities and facilities. Also, the visitor will get acquainted with the educational system in those times and preview a sample of the furnishing of the school's classrooms, curricula, learning tools, writing materials and the subjects taught to the students, the certificates that were awarded by the school at the time, and many historical government documents and correspondence related to the educational system in the emirate. There are also introductory briefs about the founder of the school, His Eminence, late Sheikh Ahmed bin Dalmouk, in addition to the names of the first generation of teachers and students of the school who have become among the ruling men of the country, literature and trade in the Emirate of Dubai, the most important of whom are some Sheikhs who ruled Dubai, such as the late Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum, builder of Dubai, and the late Sheikh Maktoum bin Rashid Al Maktoum, the former Ruler of Dubai, and His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Deputy Ruler of Dubai.

A visit to Al Ahmadiya School is considered a unique opportunity to get acquainted with a model repeated in different emirates of the country representing national charity, which many traders and philanthropists were engaged in and which was supported by the local governments in Dubai. In addition, the visit will increase recognition of the passion and interest in science along with knowledge of Dubai's traditional society, despite the scarcity of resources and hardships they suffered at the time. The visit will also give a clear perspective on the extent of cooperation and communication, between the local community and the neighbouring communities, and the great sacrifices made by the first generation of teachers who left their homelands and settled to live in Dubai, in order to educate children.


ElementsValue
Geographical location Al Ras area - Deira
Area 528 square metres
Working hours From Saturday to Thursday, from 8:00 until 19:30 and Fridays, from 14:30 until 19:30
Admission fees Free of charge
Tourism guidance Available for free
Telephone 04-226 0286 and 04-515 5000
E-mail info@dubaiculture.ae
Public transport buses You can reach the location through the nearby Gold Souq Bus Station.
Metro station You can reach the location through the nearby Al Ras Metro Station.
Parking areas You are advised to use public transport, due to the scarcity of parking areas, since the school is located in a crowded commercial area.​

ثقافتنا الحية

المدرسة الأحمديّة

  • 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3.jpg
  • 4.jpg
  • 5.jpg
  • 6.jpg
  • 7.jpg
  • 8.jpg

 

يرجى الملاحظة، هذا المكان حالياً قيد الترميم، وسوف يكون مغلق أمام الجمهور حتى إشعار آخر.

​​
 
تأخذك المدرسة الأحمدية إلى عبق أجواء التعليم في بواكير القرن العشرين من تاريخ دبي، وتعتبر أول مدرسة أهلية شبه نظامية قام بتأسيسها وإنشائها سماحة الراحل الشيخ أحمد بن دلموك في عام 1912م، والذي كان يُعدُّ من كبار تجّار اللّؤلؤ في الخليج العربي. وقد استُقطبت نخبة من العلماء والفقهاء للتعليم في المدرسة من الدول العربية المجاورة، واستمر التعليم في المدرسة منذ إنشائها وحتى عام 1958م، وقامت حكومة دبيّ في العام 1994 بترميم المدرسة وتحويلها إلى متحف تاريخي.
توفر المدرسة الأحمدية فرصة فريدة للاطلاع على تاريخ تطور التعليم في المدرسة والإمارة والدولة، وكذلك معايشة أجواء التعليم التقليدي في مختلف أقسام المدرسة من فصول دراسية داخلية وخارجية، وأروقة، وفناء داخلي، ومرافق. كما ويتمكن الزائر من التعرف على نظام التعليم في ذلك الوقت، ومعاينة نماذج من تجهيزات الفصول الدراسية ومناهج وأدوات التعليم والكتابة، والمواد الدراسية التي كان الطلاب يتعلمونها، وكذلك الشهادات التي كانت تمنحها المدرسة في ذلك الوقت، وتحتوي المدرسة على العديد من الوثائق والمراسلات الحكومية التاريخية المتعلقة بالتعليم في الإمارة، كما وتتوفر نبذات تعريفية عن مؤسس المدرسة سماحة الراحل الشيخ أحمد بن دلموك، وكذلك أسماء الرعيل الأول من مدرّسي وطلاب المدرسة ممن أصبحوا من رجالات الحكم والأدب والتجارة في دبي، وعلى رأسهم الشيوخ حكام دبي مثل الراحل الشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم باني دبي، والراحل الشيخ مكتوم بن راشد آل مكتوم حاكم دبي السابق، وسمو الشيخ حمدان بن راشد آل مكتوم نائب حاكم دبي.
إن زيارتك للمدرسة الأحمدية تعتبر فرصة فريدة للتعرف على نموذج –تكرر في مختلف إمارات للدولة- من العمل الأهلي الخيري الذي انخرط فيه العديد من التجار والمحسنين وأعانتهم عليه الحكومات المحلية، كما وستزيدك الزيارة تقديراً للشغف والاهتمام بالعلم في مجتمع دبي التقليدي بالرغم مما عاناه وقتها من شح الموارد، وشظف العيش، وأيضاً ستشكل لديك الزيارة تصوراً واضحاً عن مدى علاقات التعاون والتواصل بين المجتمع المحلي والمجتمعات المجاورة، وعن التضحيات الكبيرة التي قدمها الرعيل الأول من المدرسين ممن تركوا أوطانهم وانتقلوا للتعليم والاستقرار في دبي لتعليم أبنائها.

 

الموقع الجغرافيمنطقة الراس – ديرة.
المساحة 528 متراً مربعاً.
ساعات العملمن السبت إلى الخميس: من 8:00 حتى 19:30، والجمعة: من 14:30 حتى 19:30
رسوم الزيارةالزيارة مجانية.
الإرشاد السياحيمتوفر ومجاني.
الهاتف04-2260286   ​
البريد الالكترونيinfo@dubaiculture.ae
حافلات النقل العاميمكن الوصول إ​لى الموقع عن طريق محطة حافلات سوق الذهب القريبة.
محطات المترويمكن الوصول إلى الموقع عن طريق محطة ميترو الراس القريبة.
مواقف السياراتينصح باستخدام وسائل النقل العامة، وذلك بسبب ندرة المواقف نظراً لوقوع المدرسة في منطقة تجارية مزدحمة.​