Live Our
Heritage

Coin Museum

  • 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3.jpg
  • 4.jpg

 

The Coins Museum is located in Al Fahidi Historical Neighbourhood near the Ruler's Divan in Bur Dubai and has been converted into a Museum for Coins in 2004, consisting of two floors, and built of coral, stone, plaster, chandal wood, leaves and trunks of palm trees and teakwood.

The museum visitors will have the chance to discover coins belonging to different historical eras. The museum is equipped with special display cabinets and magnifying screens for each coin as well as touch screens with electronic drop-down lists containing detailed information on each coin, in regards to its shape, size, metal, method and date of minting, words written on it, and the images and shapes it contains. The museum also includes eight main display rooms; the first room displays information about the history of coins, the second room displays 16 coins of Arab-Sasanian Dirhams that were used in the age of the Rashidun Caliphate and Umayyad Caliphate, the third room has 64 Dinars and Dirhams that were used in the Umayyad Caliphate, the fourth room displays 115 pieces of Dinars and Dirhams that were used in the Abbasid Caliphate, the fifth room includes 45 pieces of coins minted in Egypt, the Levant and Turkey, the sixth room displays 91 pieces of coins minted in Iraq and the Islamic Orient region, the seventh room contains 22 pieces of coins minted in North Africa and Andalusia, and finally the eighth room contains 102 coins minted in the Arabian Peninsula and the United Arab Emirates.

A visit to the Coins Museum represents a rare opportunity to see more than 470 pieces of rare coins dating back to different historical eras. It also increases knowledge of the coins that had been used in Dubai and the region, in addition to getting acquainted with the close link between the monetary system of the British Empire, India and the countries in the region before independence, and the formation of the federation.


Geographical locationAl Shindagha area - Bur Dubai
Area1,100 square metres
Working hours

From Sunday to Thursday, from 8:00 until 14:00. On Friday and Saturday the museum is closed

Ramadan timmings:

From Sunday to Thursday, from 9:00 until 13:30. On Friday and Saturday the museum is closed

Admission feesFree of charge
Tourism guidanceAvailable for free
Telephone04-392 0093 and 04-515 5000​
E-mailinfo@dubaiculture.ae
Public transport busesYou can reach the location through the Ghubaiba bus station nearby
Metro stationsYou can reach the location through the Ghubaiba Metro Station nearby
Parking areasFree parking area is available close to the site

​

ثقافتنا الحية

متحف المسكوكات

  • 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3.jpg
  • 4.jpg
 
يقع متحف المسكوكات في أحد مساكن حي الفهيدي التاريخي بالقرب من ديوان الحاكم في بردبيّ، وقد حُوّل إلى متحف للمسكوكات في عام 2004م، ويتكون من طابقين، وهو مبني من الحجر المرجاني، والجص، وخشب الشندل، وسعف وجذوع النخل، وخشب الساج.

 
تتاح لزوار المتحف الاطلاع على مسكوكات نقدية تعود إلى عصور تاريخيّة مختلفة، والمتحفُ مزوّد بخزائن عرض خاصة، ويحتوي على شاشاتٍ مكبرة لكل عملة، إلى جانب شاشات لمس بقوائم الكترونية منسدلة تحتوي على معلومات ٍ تفصيليّة عن كل عملة من حيث الشّكل، والحجم، والمعدن، وطريقة وتاريخ سكّها، والعبارات التي كتبت عليها، والرسوم والأشكال التي تحتويها، ويشتمل المتحف كذلك على سبع غرف عرض رئيسة هي الغرفة الأولى وتعرض فيها معلومات عن تاريخ النقود، وتضم الغرفة الثانية 16 ست عشرةَ قطعةً من الدراهم الساسانية المعربة التي كانت متداولة في عصر الخلافة الراشدة والخلافة الأموية، وتضم الغرفة الثالثة 64 أربعاً وستين قطعةً من الدنانير والدراهم المُتداولة في الخلافة الأموية، وتعرض الغرفة الرابعة 115 مئة وخمس عشرة قطعة من الدنانير والدراهم المُتداولة في الخلافة العباسية، وتضم الغرفة الخامسة 45 خمساً وأربعين قطعة من نقود مسكوكة في مصر وبلاد الشام وتركيا، وفي الغرفة السادسة تُعرض 91 واحداً وتسعين قطعة من نقودٍ مسكوكةٍ في العراق والمشرق الإسلامي، وتضم الغرفة السابعة 22 اثنتين وعشرين قطعة من نقودٍ سُكّت في شمال إفريقيا والأندلس، وتضم الغرفة الثامنة 102 قطعتين ومئة من نقود مسكوكةٍ في الجزيرة العربية ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

 
إن زيارتك لمتحف المسكوكات تمثل فرصة نادرة للاطلاع على أكثر من 470 عملة نادرة تعود إلى عصورِ تاريخيّة مختلفة، كما وتزيد من معلوماتك بخصوص العملات النقدية التي كانت متداولة في دبي والمنطقة، وارتباط نظام النقد بالإمبراطورية البريطانية، والهند، ودول المنطقة قبل الاستقلال وتكوين دولة الاتحاد.

 

 
الموقع الجغرافيمنطقة الفهيدي التاريخية – بر دبي.
المساحة 240 متر مربع.
ساعات العملمن الأحد إلى الخميس: من 8:00 حتى 22:00، ويغلق المتحف يومي الجمعة والسبت.
رسوم الزيارةالزيارة مجانية.
الإرشاد السياحيمتوفر ومجاني.
الهاتف04-5155035 و600560000
البريد الالكترونيinfo@dubaiculture.ae
حافلات النقل العاميمكن الوصول إلى الموقع عن طريق محطة باصات الغبيبة (بعيدة نسبياً).
محطات المترويمكن الوصول إلى الموقع عن طريق محطة مترو الفهيدي.
مواقف السياراتيتوفر في شارع السيف موقف للحافلات السياحية وحافلات المدارس.