Live Our
Heritage

Heritage House

  • 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3.jpg

 

Please note, this venue is currently UNDER RENOVATION and will be closed to the public until further notice.
 ​

 

Located in one of the oldest urban sites in Dubai, the Heritage House was established by Mr. Matar Saeed bin Mazina in 1890, to provide a comprehensive description of the nature of local traditional housing with its content, values and the approaches created by man to tackle the everyday life, in addition to dealing with the conditions of the desert environment with its hot and dusty weather, all to obtain physical and moral comfort. The house consists of two floors and it was built of coral, stone, plaster, teakwood, chandal wood, and the fronds and trunks of palm trees.

The visitor of the Heritage House will enjoy a unique opportunity to experience and discover many household tools and utensils (i.e. pottery, copper, wood and glass items), furniture, clothes, jewellery, cosmetics, historical toys of both, local and imported make of those times, from India and the East coast of Africa. In addition, the visitor will be able to form an adequate vision of the elements of historical heritage houses, with their rooms, divans (grand halls) and air towers (Barajeel), as well as the methods of its designs, distributions and relations between such elements and the inner courtyard, around which all the house components were organised. The philosophy of the Heritage House is based on the diversity of spaces, whether closed, semi-open or open. The visitor will be able to realise how the local architectural designer had perfectly employed these elements to satisfy the needs of the living, achieving privacy of houses as well as making them comfortable and consistent with the religious values and social traditions.  

Your visit to the Heritage House will give the visitor a chance to know the traditional lifestyle that has been lived in historical houses, in addition to finding out the innovative and skilful methods and techniques used to provide the daily life's needs. Also, it will reveal the multiple and diverse methods, for having fun and entertainment within the local community, gleeful and open, despite the scarcity of resources and hardships in that era of Dubai history.


 
Geographical locationAl Ras area - Deira
Area935 square metres
Working hoursFrom Saturday to Thursday, from 8:00 until 19:30, and Fridays, from 14:30 until 19:30
Admission feesFree of charge
Tourism guidanceAvailable for free
Telephone04-226 0286 and 04-515 5000​
E-mailinfo@dubaiculture.ae
Public transport busesThe Heritage House is located halfway between Gold Souq and the Al Ras bus stations
Metro stationsYou can reach the location through the Al Ras Metro Station
Parking areasYou are advised to use public transport, due to the scarcity of parking areas, since the House is located in a crowded commercial area​

ثقافتنا الحية

بيت التّراث

  • 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3.jpg
يرجى الملاحظة، هذا المكان حالياً قيد الترميم، وسوف يكون مغلق أمام الجمهور حتى إشعار آخر.
​​
في واحد من أقدم مواقع دبي الحضرية يقع بيت التراث الذي أنشأه السيد/ مطر سعيد بن مزينة في عام 1890م ليقدم نبذة وافية عن طبيعة المسكن التقليدي المحلي بما يحتويه من مضامين وقيم ومعالجات ابتدعها الانسان ليحقق بها أغراضه المعيشية اليومية، وليعالج مشكلات البيئة الصحراوية والجو الحار والمُترب، لتتحقق له الراحة المادية والمعنوية. حيث يتكون البيت من طابقين، وتم تشييده من الحجر المرجاني، والجص، وخشب الساج، وخشب الشندل، وسعف وجذوع النخل.
تتاح لزائر بيت التراث فرصة فريدة للمعايشة والاطلاع على العديد من نماذج الأدوات والأواني (الفخارية والنحاسية والخشبية والزجاجية)، والأثاث، والأزياء، والحلي وأدوات الزينة، والألعاب التراثية المحلية والمستوردة في ذلك الوقت من الهند والساحل الشرقي لإفريقيا. كما ويأخذ الزائر تصوراً وافياً عن عناصر البيت التراثي من غرف وإيوانات (ليوانات) وممرات، وأبراج هوائية (براجيل)، وأساليب تصميمها وتوزيعها، والعلاقات فيما بينها وبين الفناء الداخلي الذي تنتظم حوله جميع مكونات البيت، وفلسفة البيت التراثي القائمة على تنوع الفراغات من مغلقة، وشبه مفتوحة، ومفتوحة. ويتمكن الزائر من تقدير كيف أتقن المصمم المعماري المحلي توظيفها في استيفاء حاجاته المعيشية، وتحقيق خصوصية المسكن، وجعله مريحاً، ومنسجماً مع القيم والتقاليد الدينية والاجتماعية.
إن زيارتك لبيت التراث تتيح لك الفرصة للتعرف على نمط الحياة التقليدي الذي كانت تكتنفه البيوت التراثية، كما تكشف لك عن الأساليب والطرق –التي لا تخلو من الابتكار والمهارة- في توفير المتطلبات الحياتية اليومية، كما يكشف تنوع وتعدد أساليب اللهو والمتعة عن كنه المجتمع المحلي الذي كانت تغمره البهجة والانفتاح رغماً عن شح الموارد، وشظف العيش في تلك الحقبة من تاريخ دبي.
 

 
الموقع الجغرافيمنطقة الراس – ديرة.
المساحة 935 متراً مربعاً.
ساعات العملمن السبت إلى الخميس: من 8:00 حتى 19:30، والجمعة: من 14:30 حتى 19:30
رسوم الزيارةالزيارة مجانية.
الإرشاد السياحيمتوفر ومجاني.
الهاتف04-2260286  و  600560000
البريد الالكترونيinfo@dubaiculture.ae
حافلات النقل العاميقع البيت في موقع متوسط بين محطة سوق الذهب ومحطة الراس للحافلات.
محطات المترويمكن الوصول إلى الموقع عن طريق محطة ميترو الراس.
مواقف السياراتينصح باستخدام وسائط النقل العامة، وذلك بسبب ندرة المواقف نظراً لوقوع البيت في منطقة تجارية مزدحمة.​