Live Our
Heritage

Jumaa and Obaid Bin Thani House

  • 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3.jpg
  • 4.jpg
  • 5.jpg

Please note, this venue is currently UNDER RENOVATION and will be closed to the public until further notice.

Juma and Obaid Bin Thani House was built in 1916, at the old area of Al Shindagha. It is one of the oldest houses built in this area. It is also close to Sheikh Saeed Al Maktoum's House and is considered a historic edifice with ideal local architectural elements. It was restored in 1998 and it now holds the continuous exhibition for Arabic calligraphy entitled, "Arabic Calligraphy Over Time".

Visitors have a unique opportunity to know and enjoy a traditional home comprised of 20 rooms, spread over two floors, with their unique local architectural elements, and will be able to note the elegant and fine artistic taste of the house owners, who took great care of it in terms of the design and distribution of the elements, also in regards to the building materials. The house has a dreamy atmosphere reeking of heritage and is a special attraction for the visitors of the "Arabic Calligraphy Over Time" exhibition, which has two divisions. The first division tells about the history of Arabic calligraphy and the phases of its evolution in different parts of the Islamic region. The other division contains a variety of original examples of Arabic calligraphy, of some of the most famous calligraphers, from all over the Islamic region. The exhibition also displays examples and samples of Arabic calligraphy tools, an introduction about them and how to use them. This exhibition is an attraction to several creative artists in the Arab world, regionally and internationally, and is a distinguished destination for tourists who are looking for cultural, old and refined artistic nourishment. The exhibition also hosts and takes part in a number of activities such as lectures, workshops for training in Arabic calligraphy, conferences for Arabic calligraphy and for the Arabic language.

A visit to Jumaa and Obaid Bin Thani House is a unique opportunity to know an authentic and elegant example of local houses reflecting heritage, which expresses the dire need of the local citizens to enjoy life and to make use of the poorest of the environmental resources available such as stone, gypsum, sandal wood, fronds and palm wood, to form and adapt a living environment, which accommodates their material and moral needs. Also, the hosting of the "Arabic Calligraphy Over Time" exhibition gives the visitor a chance to get acquainted with the charm of Arabic calligraphy, which has a long history and continuously creates interest due to its relation to the scripture of the Holy Quran, which is hallowed by over a billion Muslims all over the world.

Geographical locationAl Shindagha area - Bur Dubai
Area3,600 square metres
Working hoursSaturday to Thursday, from 8:00 to 20:30, and Fridays, from 15:00 until 21:30
Admission feesAED 3 for adults, AED 1 for children (under the age of 6)
Tourism guidanceAvailable for free
Telephone04-393 7139 and 04-515 5000​
E-mailinfo@dubaiculture.ae
Public transport busesYou can reach the location through the Ghubaiba bus station nearby
Metro stationsYou can reach the location through the Ghubaiba metro station nearby
Parking areasFree parking area is available close to the site​

ثقافتنا الحية

بيت جمعة و عبيد بن ثاني

  • 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3.jpg
  • 4.jpg
  • 5.jpg
يرجى الملاحظة، هذا المكان حالياً قيد الترميم، وسوف يكون مغلق أمام الجمهور حتى إشعار آخر.
 
أنشئ بيت جمعة وعبيد بن ثاني في العام 1916 في حيّ الشّندغة التّاريخي، وهو من أقدم البيوت المنشأة في هذا الحيّ، حيث يتميّز البيت بقربه من بيت الشيخ سعيد بن مكتوم، ويُعدُّ صرحاً تاريخياً ذا عناصر معماريّة محلية نموذجية، رُمّم البيت في العام 1998، ويضمُّ حالياً المعرض الدائم للخط العربي "الخط العربي عبر العصور".

 
تتاح للزائر فرصة فريدة للاطلاع والمعايشة لمسكن تراثي تقليدي مكون من 20 غرفة –موزعة على طابقين- بما يحتويه من عناصر معمارية محلية فريدة، مع ملاحظة الذوق الفني الراقي والرفيع لأصحاب البيت الذين اعتنوا به من حيث التصميم وتوزيع العناصر، وكذلك من حيث مواد البناء،  كما وتضيف أجواء البيت التراثية الحالمة جاذبية خاصة لمرتادي المعرض الدائم للخط العربي "الخط العربي عبر العصور" الذي ينقسم إلى قسمين، يحكي أولهما عن تاريخ الخط العربي ومراحل تطوّره في مختلف أجزاء العالم الاسلامي، ويضمُّ الآخر نماذجاً أصلية متنوّعة للخط العربي لأشهر الخطّاطين على مستوى العالم الإسلامي، ويحتوي المعرض كذلك على نماذج وعينات من أدوات الخط العربي ونبذات تعريفية عنها وطرق استخدامها، ويُعتبر هذا المعرض عنصر جذبٍ للمبدعين من الفنانين على المستوى العربي والإقليمي والعالمي، وكذلك مزاراً مميّزاً للسّائحين الباحثين عن الزّاد الثّقافي والتّراثي والفني المتميز، وكما ويقيم المعرض ويشارك في العديد من الفعاليات من محاضرات وورش تدريبية على الخط العربي، وتنظيم معارض الخط العربي واللغة العربية.

 
إن زيارتك لبيت جمعة وعبيد بن ثاني تعتبر فرصة فريدة للاطلاع على نموذج أصيل متفرد وأنيق من المساكن التراثية المحلية المعبرة عن الرغبة الملحة للإنسان المحلي في التمتع بالحياة وتوظيف أفقر الموارد البيئية -المكونة من الحجر المرجاني، والجص، وخشب الشندل، وسعف النخيل وجذوعها- لتشكيل وتكييف بيئة سكنية تتكفل باستيفاء حاجاته المادية والمعنوية، كما وأن احتضان البيت للمعرض الدائم للخط العربي "الخط العربي عبر العصور" يوفر لك فرصة التعرف على الخط العربي الذي يكتنفه الكثير من السحر، والتاريخ العريق، والاهتمام الممتد لارتباطه بكتابة القرآن الكريم الذي يقدسه أكثر من مليار مسلم على وجه الأرض.

 
الموقع الجغرافيمنطقة الشندغة - بر دبي.
المساحة 1,250  متراً مربعاً.
ساعات العملمن السبت إلى الخميس: من 8:00 حتى 21:00، والجمعة: من 16:00 حتى 22:00
رسوم الزيارةالزيارة مجانية.
الإرشاد السياحيمتوفر ومجاني.
الهاتف04-5155363 و600560000
البريد الالكترونيinfo@dubaiculture.ae
حافلات النقل العاميمكن الوصول إلى الموقع عن طريق محطة حافلات الغبيبة القريبة.
محطات المترويمكن الوصول إلى الموقع عن طريق محطة ميترو الغبيبة القريبة.
مواقف السياراتيتوفر موقف سيارات مجاني قريباً من الموقع.

​