Live Our
Heritage

Majlis Ghorfat Umm Al Sheif

  • 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3.jpg
  • 4.jpg
  • 5.jpg
  • 6.jpg
  • 7.jpg
  • 8.jpg
  • 9.jpg
Majlis Ghorfat Umm Al Sheif, in spite of its small size, is considered to be a special historical monument distinguished by its unique traditional heritage feature. It was established in 1955, to be the summer resort of late Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum in the Jumeirah area, which was traditionally famous for its calmness and tranquillity along with its distance from the noise of crowdedness. It is abundant in palm trees and fresh air, hence Sheikh Rashid used to spend some evenings in this divan (Majlis) in solitude or to confer with his advisers to make decisions. The Majlis has been named "Umm Al Sheif" in honour of one of the famous Pearl Fisheries, while the Majlis, with its two-floor building is marked by simplicity and is commensurate with the purpose of its establishment.

Majlis Ghorfat Umm Al Sheif provides a unique opportunity to know about the historical furniture, tools and utensils in traditional Emirati Majlis. It contains samples of copper buckets, coffee stoves, jars, earthenware, brassware, rugs and carpets, in addition to the relatively modern appliances of those times such as clocks and radios, along with defence tools like rifles and daggers which were carried by men in their belts. The Majlis is composed of two floors, a ground floor consisting of an open porch with columns and a small room, while the upper floor consists of an open porch, the Majlis' main hall and a small room. The Majlis was built from plaster, coral, stones, chandal wood, palm fronds and trunks, and teak wood imported from India. In the centre of the building is a garden containing palm trees, gorges for irrigation and a well to provide fresh water. Currently, the UAE National Day events are held in the Majlis.

A visit to Majlis Ghorfat Umm Al Sheif is an opportunity to experience the atmosphere of Dubai's ruling councils where they held debates, discussions, representation of views and decision-making, which have contributed to what Dubai achieved in the fields of urbanisation and leadership, a tradition to which Dubai owes its path to modern development, achievement of excellence and uniqueness that dazzles the world.

 
Geographical locationJumeirah area - Bur Dubai.
Area3,300 square meters.
Working hours

From Sunday to Thursday: from 7:30 to 14:30. On Friday and Saturday, the Majlis is closed.

Ramadan timmings:

From Sunday to Thursday: from 10:00 to 15:00. On Friday and Saturday, the Majlis is closed.

Admission feesAED 3 for adults, AED 1 for children under the age of 6.
Tourism guidanceAvailable for free.
Telephone04-2260286 and 04-515 5000​
E-mailinfo@dubaiculture.ae
Metro stationsNo metro stations close to the site are available
Parking areasAvailable in front of the site.​

ثقافتنا الحية

مجلس غرفة أم الشّيف

  • 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3.jpg
  • 4.jpg
  • 5.jpg
  • 6.jpg
  • 7.jpg
  • 8.jpg
  • 9.jpg
​​
يُعتبر مجلس غرفة أم الشيف –على صغر حجمه- صرحاً تاريخياً ذا نكهةٍ تراثيّةٍ خاصّة، ذلك أنه أُنشئ في العام 1955م كمصيف للراحل الشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم في منطقة جميرا، التي كانت تشتهر قديماً بهدوئها وبعدها عن الضّوضاء والعمران، وتوافر النّخيل والهواء النّقي فيها؛ حيث كان الشيخ راشد يقضي بعض الفترات المسائيّة في هذا المجلس ليختلي بنفسه وبمستشاريه ويتّخذ القرارات، وقد سُمي المجلس بأم الشيّف تيمناً بأحدِ مغاصات اللّؤلؤ الشهيرة، كما أنّ المجلس المكون من دورين يتسم في بنائه بالبساطة، ويتناسب مع غرض إنشائه.

 
يعتبر مجلس غرفة أم الشيف فرصة فريدة للاطلاع على الأثاث والأدوات والأواني التراثية الخاصة بالمجلس الإماراتي التقليدي، حيث يحتوي المجلس على عينات من الدِلال النحاسية، ومواقد القهوة، والجرار والأواني الفخارية والنحاسية، والأبسطة والسجاد، والأجهزة الحديثة نسبياً وقتها مثل الساعات وأجهزة المذياع، وأدوات الحراسة من بنادق وخناجر كان يتمنطق بها الناس. ويتكون المجلس من دورين، يتألف الدور الأرضي من رواق مفتوح ذي أعمدة، وغرفة صغيرة، ويتألف الدور العلوي من رواق مفتوح، وقاعة المجلس الرئيسة، وغرفة صغيرة. وقد بني المجلس من الجص، والأحجار المرجانية، وخشب الشندل، وسعف وجذوع النخل، وأخشاب الساج المستوردة من الهند. وتتوسط المبنى حديقة فيها أشجار نخيل، وأفلاج للري، وبئر للتزود بالماء العذب. وتقام في المجلس حالياً فعاليات اليوم الوطني لدولة الامارات العربية المتحدة.

 
إن زيارتك لمجلس غرفة أم الشيف يوفر لك فرصة معايشة أجواء مجالس الحكم بما يدور فيها من نقاشات وعرض للآراء، واتخاذ للقرارات التي ساهمت فيما وصلت إليه دبي من تحضر وريادة، وهو التقليد الذي لا زالت دبي تدين له في مسيرتها التنموية الحديثة وما حققته من إنجازات أبهر تميزها وفرادتها العالم.

 
الموقع الجغرافيمنطقة جميرا – بر دبي.
المساحة 3,300  متر مربع.
ساعات العمل

من الأحد إلى الخميس: من 10 صباحا حتى 5 مساءا ، ويغلق المجلس يومي الجمعة والسبت.

أوقات العمل في رمضان:

من الأحد إلى الخميس: من 10 صباحا حتى 3 مساءا ، ويغلق المجلس يومي الجمعة والسبت.

رسوم الزيارةللكبار3 دراهم، ودرهم واحد لمن دون سن 6 سنوات.
الإرشاد السياحيمتوفر ومجاني.
الهاتف04-3946343 و 600560000
البريد الالكترونيinfo@dubaiculture.ae
حافلات النقل العامموقف حافلات الغريفة رقم X28
محطات المترولا تتوفر محطات مترو قريبة من الموقع.
مواقف السياراتمتوفرة أمام الموقع.

​