Live Our
Heritage

Museum of the Poet Al Oqaili

  • 1.jpg

 

 
Located at Al Ras area in Deira, the house was built in 1923 and owned by the poet Mubarak bin Hamad bin Mubarak Al Manea Al Oqaili, who moved from Saudi Arabia and lived between 1875 to 1954. He is considered to be one of the famous poets and prominent luminaries of Dubai, in writing Eloquent and Nabataean poetry. The poet Al Oqaili has brought a group of skilled builders from Al Ahsa region in the east of the Arabian Peninsula to build this house. Those builders made both, artistic ornaments and artistic writings, which elevated the aesthetic aspects of the house and granted the house its unique historical value. The house consists of two floors, in which the rooms are distributed around an internal courtyard and was built from coral, stone, plaster, chandal wood, teakwood, fronds and trunks of palm trees as well as the traditional building material sarooj.

The visitor to the Museum of the Poet Al Oqaili will have a chance to experience the atmospheres of one of the most beautiful traditional heritage houses in Dubai, which expresses the fine sense and taste of its owner as a poet, where the visitor enjoys the beautiful heritage, the architectural designs and its elements. The museum consists of nine main wings, which are: Al Oqaili Life, his Eloquent Poetry, his Nabataean Poetry, his Correspondence, his Cultural and Social Life, his Manuscripts, his Majlis, and the House Restoration and Writings about the Poet Al Oqaili. The Museum also contains a valuable collection of documents, correspondence and his commandments, in addition to the original collections of poems, some of which are in his own handwriting. It also contains a valuable set of collections, personal tools belonging to the poet, furniture and household items, which are considered as precious artefacts representing the era of the last quarter of the nineteenth century, until the first half of the twentieth century in the region.

A visit to the Museum of the Poet Al Oqaili presents a unique opportunity to experience the atmosphere of one of the most beautiful heritage houses in Dubai, which expresses the fine sense and taste of its owner as a poet, where the visitor enjoys the beautiful heritage, architectural designs and its elements reflected in the house. The visitor will also have the chance to view original documents and collections belonging to the poet Al Oqaili. This will increase one's knowledge of one of the most famous poets in the region, who had active contact and interaction with many of the international events of his time. He was a person who had been visited by many famous figures of his time, appreciated by the rulers of his time, and who was a man of reverence and great wisdom.

Geographical locationAl Ras area - Deira
Area187 square meters
Working hours

From Sunday to Thursday, from 8:00 until 14:00. On Friday and Saturday the museum is closed

Ramdan timmings:

From Sunday to Thursday, from 9:00 until 13:30. On Friday and Saturday the museum is closed

Admission feesFree of charge
Tourism guidanceAvailable for free
Telephone04-515 5000​
E-mailinfo@dubaiculture.ae
Public transport busesYou can reach the location through the Al Ras bus station
Metro stationsYou can reach the location through the Al Ras Metro Station
Parking areasYou are advised to use public transport, due to the scarcity of parking areas since the Museum is located in a crowded commercial area​

ثقافتنا الحية

متحف الشّاعر العقيلي

  • 1.jpg

 

شُيِّد البيت في العام 1923 م، في منطقة الرّاس في ديرة، وترجع ملكيته للشاعر مبارك بن حمد بن مبارك آل مانع العُقيلي، الذي انتقل من المملكة العربية السعودية وعاش في الفترة ما بين 1875 م- 1954 م، ويعد من أشهر شعراء وأعلام دبي البارزين في الشعر الفصيح والنبطي، وقد جلب الشّاعر العقيلي مجموعة من البنائين المهرة من منطقة الإحساء من شرق الجزيرة العربية لبناء هذا البيت، وقد أضفى أولئك البناؤون زخارف معماريّة فنيّة وكتابيّة ارتقت بالجانب الجمالي للبيت، وأكسبته قيمته الـتّاريخيّة الفريدة، ويتكون البيت من دورين تتوزع فيهما الغرف حول فِناء "حوش" داخليّ، وقد بني من الحجر المرجاني، والجص، وخشب الشندل، وخشب الساج، وسعف وجذوع النخل، ومادة الصاروج.

 
تتاح لزائر متحف الشاعر العقيلي معايشة أجواء أحد أجمل البيوت التراثية في دبي، والذي عبرّ عن ذوق واحساس مرهف لصاحبه الشاعر، حيث يستمتع الزائر بالعناصر والتصاميم المعمارية التراثية الجميلة، ويتكون المتحف من تسعة أجنحة أساسية هي حياة العقيلي، وشعره الفصيح، وشعره النبطي، ومراسلاته، وحياته الثقافية والاجتماعية، ومخطوطاته، ومجلسه، وترميم البيت، ومؤلفات عن الشاعر. كما ويحتوي المتحف على مجموعة قيمة من الوثائق، والمراسلات، ووصاياه، والدواوين الأصلية للشاعر، ومنها ما هو بخط يده. بالإضافة إلى مجموعة ثمينة من المقتنيات، والأدوات الشخصية للشاعر، والأثاث والأدوات المنزلية التي تعتبر قطعاً أثرية تمثل حقبة من الربع الأخير للقرن التاسع عشر حتى النصف الأول من القرن العشرين في المنطقة.

 
إن زيارتك لمتحف الشاعر العقيلي تتيح لك فرصة فريدة لمعايشة أجواء أحد أجمل البيوت التراثية في دبي، والذي عبرّ عن ذوق واحساس مرهف لصاحبه الشاعر، حيث يستمتع الزائر بالعناصر والتصاميم المعمارية التراثية الجميلة التي احتواها البيت، كما أنك ستطلع على وثائق ومقتنيات أصلية تعود للشاعر العقيلي تزيد من معرفتك بأحد أشهر شعراء المنطقة ممن كان على تواصل وتفاعل بالكثير من الأحداث الدولية في عصره، وممن زاره من العديد من مشاهير زمنه، وممن كان محل تقدير من حكام عصره وصاحب حظوة ومشورة لديهم.

 
الموقع الجغرافيمنطقة الرأس – ديرة.
المساحة 187 متر مربع.
ساعات العمل

من الأحد إلى الخميس: من 8:00 حتى 14:00، ويغلق المتحف يومي الجمعة والسبت.

أوقات العمل في رمضان:

من الأحد إلى الخميس: من 9:00 حتى 13:30 ،ويغلق المتحف يومي الجمعة والسبت.

رسوم الزيارةالزيارة مجانية.
الإرشاد السياحيمتوفر ومجاني.
الهاتف600560000
البريد الالكترونيinfo@dubaiculture.ae
حافلات النقل العاميمكن الوصول إلى الموقع عن طريق محطة باصات منطقة الراس.
محطات المترويمكن الوصول إلى الموقع عن طريق محطة مترو منطقة الراس.
مواقف السياراتينصح باستخدام وسائط النقل العامة، وذلك بسبب ندرة المواقف نظراً لوقوع المتحف في منطقة تجارية مزدحمة.​