Our
INITIATIVES

Open call for applications for Artist Residency

  • IMG_0895.JPG
  • IMG_0903.JPG
The partners of A.I.R. Dubai – The Dubai Arts & Culture Authority, Delfina Foundation, Art Dubai and Tashkeel – are inviting locally based artists of all nationalities to apply for its 2015 residency programme, scheduled to run from January 25 to March 25, 2016.

This year, four participating artists from the UAE will be selected through a competitive open call for two-month artistic residencies in Dubai, with resulting works produced to be exhibited as part of Art Dubai Projects. Scheduled to run from January 25 to March 25, 2016, A.I.R. Dubai's programme will include two international artists, an international curator and an Emirati assistant curator working alongside the four selected artists from the UAE. The residency programme will give local artists the opportunity to engage in intercultural dialogue with the international residents, reiterating Dubai's position as a vibrant hub for art. All artists will be provided with studios at Tashkeel during the course of the residency with full access to the facilities at Tashkeel. The residency will also have access to a traditional house in the Al Fahidi Historical Neighbourhood, for research or studio purposes. 

All six artists will be invited to propose site-specific works for Art Dubai Projects, the fair's non-commercial programme of new commissions.  In addition to the new works commissioned for Art Dubai Projects, the artists will also be required to commit to the expanded education and outreach programme, with talks and workshops taking place throughout the two-month residency, engaging local schools, universities and the arts community at large, with the guidance of the curator and assistant curator. Additionally, for the period of SIKKA, the appointed Al Fahidi house will be transformed into an exhibition space of previous A.i.R artists OR of research and evidence of studio practice collated during the 2016 residency.

 Prior to the residency the artists will be invited to visit Dubai for two weeks in September 2015 – from 13 to 27 September – during this time, there will be introductions to all the partners along with research period and opportunity to engage with the curator and fellow artists. With that in mind, the resulting Art Dubai Projects are intended to respond to the UAE, with proposals to be submitted by the artists prior to the commencement of the residency for both the project and workshops. The deadline for the project proposals is 31 October.

Applications are open to both UAE nationals and artists living and working in the UAE of all nationalities.

During the residency, the artists will be expected to:
  • Work closely with the curator and assistant curator with the aim of expanding their ideas, refining their approach and developing their practice
  • Be available full time and work from the allocated studios for the duration of the residency – January 25 to March 25, 2016
  • Propose works that relate to Dubai and UAE context for Art Dubai Projects by 31 October.
  • Propose workshops and talks by 31 October to take place between 25 January – 25 March 2016
  • Provide written and visual contribution to the blog on a weekly basis, with the guidance and support of the curator and assistant curator
  • Be available for press interviews – see media section below where preferences can be specified
  • Contribute to the public programme in support of A.i.R – these may be on site in the studios or on location at schools, universities and other institutions
THE SELECTED ARTISTS WILL RECEIVE:
  • A studio/workspace at Tashkeel for eight weeks along with access to the appointed A.i.R house in the Al Fahidi Historical Neighbourhood
  • An artist fee (8,000dhs) and material budget (to a maximum of 10,000dhs) – the materials budget is available to the artists on an 'as-need' basis
  • Multiple, diverse platforms (e. g. talks, workshops, open studios) to discuss and showcase ideas and working practices during the residency with peers and professionals and during Art Week with international audiences

CONDITIONS FOR APPLICANTS:

  • Emirati and locally based visual artists whose practice includes a strong degree of research that would make use of the residency experience
  • Able to be released from other work/study commitments in order to fully commit to the programme, during the residency and during Art Week (this includes not taking on additional exhibitions or commissions without the approval of A.i.R Dubai's partners)
  • Seeking a career-defining opportunity to research a bold, seminal artistic project
  • Able to demonstrate achievement or great potential in visually articulating ground-breaking and critically engaged ideas and concepts in an innovative and collaborative way
  • Resourceful and able to work in a cost-effective way
  • Able to demonstrate how the experience of this residency may benefit his/her practice and career development
  • Proficient in English
 
APPLICATION PROCESS:

Applicants are expected to submit all of the below items and only the below items. Extra materials will not be considered.
  • The completed application form
  • Passport Copy (inc. visa page where applicable)
  • Brief Biography
  • Recent CV/resume
  • Portfolio – only one document/pdf file. Although there is no maximum number of images that will be accepted, we advise applicants to only submit relevant ones to reduce the size of email submissions. The images should be high quality but small in terms of file size. Please include captions or short descriptions in the file. For videos/films, please provide links to your own website, Vimeo page, YouTube page, etc. Do not attach actual video files.
ALL DOCUMENTS COMBINED MUST BE NO MORE THAN 10MB

Please submit all materials to this email address with A.I.R. DUBAI in the subject: submission@tashkeel.org

Please click here to download submission form

Please try to send all information in one email. If the files do not fit in one email, you may submit multiple emails. In this case, indicate in the subject line of the email the number of emails that you are sending to ensure that all of your emails are filed. (e.g. "A.I.R. DUBAI APPLICATION 1 of 3", "2 of 3", etc).

Closing date for applications:  21 AUGUST 2015.

All applicants will be notified of the panel's decision by 6 SEPTEMBER 2015.

FOR MORE INFORMATION ON A.I.R. DUBAI'S PARTNERS:

www.dubaiculture.gov.ae

www.tashkeel.org

www.artdubai.ae

www.delfinafoundation.com


FOR MORE INFORATION ON A.I.R. DUBAI INCLUDING IMAGES AND ESSAYS:

http://delfinafoundation.com/programmes/residency-programme/collaborations/air-dubai/

http://delfinafoundation.com/whats-on/exhibition-artists-in-residence-air-dubai/

http://tashkeel.org/residencies/air-dubai-2015

http://artdubai.ae/air-dubai/2015


For more information:

submission@tashkeel.org

مبادراتنا

دعوة مفتوحة لتقديم طلبات للالتحاق ببرنامج الفنان المقيم

  • IMG_0895.JPG
  • IMG_0903.JPG
يدعو شركاء )ايه آي آر دبي(،وهم هيئةدبي للثقافةوالفنون ، مؤسسة دلفينا، آرت دبي وتشكيل، الفنانين المقيمين المحليين من كافة الجنسيات الى التقدم بطلبات للالتحاق ببرنامج الفنان المقيم 2015 والذي من المقرر عقده في  الفترة من 25 يناير الى 25 مارس 2016
 
في العام الحالي، سوف يتم اختيار أربعة فنانين مشاركين من الامارات العربية المتحدة من خلال دعوة مفتوحة للتنافس على اقامة لمدة شهرين للفنانين في دبي حيث سيتم عرض الأعمال المنتجة كجزء من مشاريع آرت دبي. من المقرر أن يستمر البرنامج من   25 يناير الى 25 مارس    2016 . سوف يشمل برنامج إقامة الفنان المقيم دبي فنانين عالميين اثنين، وقيّما عالميا واحدا ومساعدا اماراتيا للقيّم يعمل جنبا الى جنب مع أربعة فنانين مختارين من الامارات العربية المتحدة. وسوف يمنح برنامج الإقامة للفنانين المحليين الفرصة للمشاركة في حوار ثقافي مع المقيمين الدوليين للتأكيد على مركز دبي كمركز للفنون عامر بالنشاط. سوف يتم تزويد كافة الفنانين  باستديوهات في تشكيل أثناء فترة الإقامة مع وصول كامل الى مرافق تشكيل , بالإضافة الى ذلك، سوف يتمتع برنامج الإقامة بإمكانية دخول بيت تقليدي في حيّ الفهيدي التاريخي لغرض الأبحاث أو استخدام الاستوديو  
 
تتم دعوة الفنانين الستة جميعهم لاقتراح أعمال في مواقع محددة لمشاريع آرت دبي، وهو المشروع الغير تجاري للمعرض الخاص بالتكليفات الجديدة. وبالإضافة الى الأعمال الجديدة التي تم التكليف بها لمشاريع آرت دبي، سوف يُشترط على الفنانين الالتزام تجاه برنامج التعليم الموّسع وخدمات المجتمع المحلي، مع حوارات وورش عمل تُعقد على مدى فترة الإقامة التي تصل الى شهرين وبمشاركة المدارس والجامعات المحلية ومجتمع الفن بشكل عام وبتوجيه من القيّم ومساعده. وخلال فترة عقد معرض سكة، سوف يتم تحويل بيت الفهيدي الى مساحة لعرض أعمال فناني برنامج "الفنان المقيم" السابقين أو الأبحاث والنماذج الدليلية لممارسات الاستوديو التي يتم تجميعها خلال فترة الإقامة في عام 2016.
 
قبل برنامج الإقامة، سيتم دعوة الفنانين لزيارة دبي لفترة أسبوعين في شهر سبتمبر 2015 وذلك من  13 الى 27 سبتمبر خلال هذه الفترة، يتم تقديمهم الى كافة الشركاء على امتداد فترة الأبحاث ومنحهم الفرصة للتفاعل مع القيّم ومع زملائهم الفنانين. من منطلق وضع ذلك في الاعتبار، سوف يكون القصد من مشروعات آرت دبي هو التجاوب مع الامارات العربية المتحدة، مع تقديم الفنانين لمقترحات قبل بدء برنامج الإقامة وذلك لكل من: المشروع وورش العمل آخر موعد لتقديم مقترحات المشروع هو 31 أكتوبر 2015
 
تقديم الطلبات مفتوح لكل من المواطنين الاماراتيين والفنانين من كافة الجنسيات الذين يعيشون ويعملون في الامارات العربية المتحدة.
 
أثناء فترة الإقامة، يتوقع من الفنانين:
 
  • العمل عن قرب مع القيّم والقيّم المساعد بهدف توسيع أفكارهم، وتنقيح منهجهم وتطوير ممارساتهم.
  • أن يكونوا متاحين طوال الوقت للعمل من الاستوديوهات المخصصة لفترة الإقامة  25 يناير الى 25 مارس 2016
  • اقتراح الأعمال المرتبطة بدبي بحلول تاريخ  31 أكتوبر 2015
  • اقتراح ورش العمل والحوارات بحلول تاريخ  31 أكتوبر 2015 بحيث تُعقد خلال الفترة من  25 يناير الى 25 مارس 2016
  • تقديم مساهمة كتابية وبصرية في المدوّنة أسبوعيا، بتوجيه ودعم من القيّم ومساعد القيّم.
  • أن يكونوا متاحين لمقابلات صحفية - أنظر القسم الاعلامي أدناه حيث يمكن تحديد الأفضليات
  •  أن يساهموا في البرنامج العام لدعم برنامج الفنان المقيم - قد يكون ذلك في الموقع في الاستوديوهات أو في مواقع المدارس، والجامعات والمؤسسات الأخرى.
 
سوف يحصل الفنانون المختارون على ما يلي:
  • استوديو/ مساحة للعمل في تشكيل لفترة ثمانية أسابيع الى جانب دخول البيت المحدد لبرنامج الفنان المقيم في منطقة الفهيدي التاريخية.
  • مكافأة للفنان و قدرها ( 8,000 درهم) لفترة ثمانية أسابيع الى جانب دخول البيت المخصص لبرنامج الفنان المقيم في منطقة الفهيدي التاريخية.
  • منصات متعددة ومتنوعة (حوارات، ورش عمل، استوديوهات مفتوحة) لمناقشة وعرض أفكار وممارسات العمل أثناء برنامج الإقامة مع الأقران والمهنيين وأثناء أسبوع الفن مع الجماهير الدولية.
 
الشروط الخاصة بالمتقدمين:

  • الفنانين البصرين الاماراتين والمحلين الذين تضمنت أعمالهم درجة قوية من الأبحاث تستفيد من تجربة الإقامة
  • قادرين على انهاء ارتباطهم بالتزامات عمل/ دراسة أخرى للالتزام بالكامل تجاه البرنامج أثناء الإقامة وأسبوع الفن (يشمل ذلك عدم قبول معارض أو تكليفات أخرى بغير موافقة شركاء برنامج الفنان المقيم دبي).
  • أن يبحثوا عن فرصة لتحديد المسار المهني لبحث مشروع فني جرئ وابداعي
  • قادرين على اثبات الانجاز أو الامكانيات الكبيرة عن طريق التعبير بصريا عن أفكار ومفاهيم مجددة والمشاركة من خلال النقد على نحو مبتكر وتعاوني.
  • واسعي الحيلة وقادرين على العمل على نحو موّفر للتكاليف
  • أن يكونوا قادرين على اثبات الكيفية التي تفيد بها تجربة هذه الإقامة ممارسته/ ممارستها وتطوره/ تطورها المهني.
  • أن يتقنوا اللغة الانجليزية
عملية تقديم الطلبات:
المتوقع من المتقدمين للطلبات استيفاء كافة البنود أدناهمن غير إضافات. لن يُلتفت الى أي مواد إضافية.

  • إستمارة الطلب كاملةً
  • صورة عن جواز السفر (بما في ذلك صفحة التأشيرة لغير الاماراتين)
  • سيرة حياة موجزة
  • سيرة ذاتية حديثة
  • محفظة الأعمال- مستند/ ملف بصيغة pdf واحد فقط. لا نفرض عدد صور معيّن، إلا أنّنا ننصح المتقدّمين بالطلبات بإرسال الصور ذات الصلة فقط لتخفيض حجم الطلبات الإلكترونية. ينبغي أن تكون الصور عالية الجودة، ولكن صغيرة من حيث حجم الملف. يرجى وضع تعليقات أو جمل وصفية قصيرة في الملف. أما بالنسبة لمقاطع الفيديو/ الأفلام، فيرجى توفير روابط إلى موقعك الإلكتروني، أو صفحة فيميو، أو صفحة يوتيوب، إلخ. لا تقم بإرفاق ملفات الفيديو الفعلية.
 
ينبغي ألا يتخطى حجم المستندات مجتمعةً 10 ميغابايت
 
 
يرجى إرسال جميع المستندات المطلوبة  إلى هذا العنوان الإلكتروني، مع ذكر "أول معرض منفرد" في موضوع البريد: submission@tashkeel.org
 
يرجى إرسال كافة المعلومات في بريد الكتروني واحد. وإذا لم يتسع إيميل واحد لجميع الملفات، يمكنك عندها إرسال أكثر من رسالة الكترونية. في هذه الحالة، أشِر في موضوع االبريد الالكتروني  إلى عدد الرسائل الالكترونية التي أرسلتها لضمان حفظ كافة الرسائل. (مثال: "طلب الالتحاق ببرنامج الفنان المقيم 1 من 3"، "2 ، إلخ).
 
 
آخر تاريخ لتقديم الطلبات: 21 أغسطس 2015
 
سوف يتم اخطار كافة المتقدمين بالطلبات بقرار هيئة التحكيم بحلول  6 سبتمبر 2015